Serbian House of Studies to be Founded at Seminary

St. Vladimir's Seminary (SVOTS) and the Faculty of Orthodox Theology at the University of Belgrade have made a formal agreement to work together with the aim of establishing a Serbian House of Studies on the campus of St. Vladimir's Seminary. The House of Studies has several goals, including the promotion of sustained dialogue and educational exchanges between Orthodox Christians in America and Serbia.

Historic day for Apostolos Andreas

Restoration work on the dilapidated monastery of Apostolos Andreas in the Karpas peninsula will finally begin after an agreement was signed yesterday between the Church of Cyprus and the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP).

Russia to help Kosovo restore Orthodox shrines

Russia to help Kosovo restore Orthodox shrines

Russia is planning to allocate money on restoration of Orthodox Christian historic monuments in Kosovo.

This was announced by a member of the Russian parliament’s lower house’s Committee for Foreign Affairs Alexander Karelin.

Earlier, Russia has already allocated $ 2 mln for this purpose through UNESCO.

Attempt to erase evidence of existence of Serbs

Aleksandar Vulin says threats and protests in front of the Serb medieval monastery Visoki Dečani were an attempt to complete the ethnic cleansing in Kosovo.

According to the director of the Government’s Office for Kosovo and Metohija, they also aimed to remove any evidence of the existence of Serbs there.

Vulin thanked members of the Italian KFOR contingent, “without whom the monastery would most probably have been burnt down”, noting that this was the fifth attack on Visoki Dečani since the 1999 NATO bombing campaign.

China and Japan were added to the Official List of Countries that Form the Canonical Territory of the Russian Orthodox Church

According to the revised constitution of Patriarchate of Moscow, China and Japan are part of its canonical territory.

The document was adopted by the Bishops’ Council, which took place in Moscow on February 2–5 and was published on the website of the Russian Orthodox Church on Tuesday.

Russia, the Ukraine, Belarus, Moldova, Azerbaijan, the Baltic States and the States of Central Asia are also included as countries forming its canonical territory (all these countries, except China and Japan, had been included in the previous version of the constitution).