The Synaxis of Primates of the Local Orthodox Churches began

The Synaxis of Primates of the Local Orthodox Churches began
The Synaxis of Primates of the Local Orthodox Churches began
The Synaxis of Primates of the Local Orthodox Churches began
The Synaxis of Primates of the Local Orthodox Churches began

His Holiness Archbishop of Pec, Metropolitan of Belgrade-Karlovac and Serbian Patriarch Irinej arrived in Geneva on 22 January 2016, where he will participate in the Synaxis of the Primates of the Local Orthodox Churches at the Orthodox Centre of the Ecumenical Patriarchate in the Geneva suburb of Chambesy from 22-28 January 2016.

His Holiness is accompanied, as members of delegation of the Serbian Church, by His Eminence Metropolitan Amfilohije of Montenegro and the Littoral and His Grace Bishop Dr. Irinej of Backa. The delegation is followed by presbyter Vladimir Vranic, Chief Secretary of the Office of His Holiness the Patriarch.

The Synaxis began on 22 January 2016 with the invocation of the Holy Spirit in the Cathedral church of St. Apostle Paul, the stauropegic church of the Ecumenical Patriarchate, at 3 p.m. At the very opening of the session, His All-Holiness Ecumenical Patriarch Bartholomew, as a Chairman, held a welcome speech, and after him all the Primates of the Churches held their addresses, among them His Holiness Patriarch Irinej as well.

Due to health and other objective reasons, this Synaxis was not attended by His Beatitude Patriarch John X of Antioch and all the East, His Beatitude Archbishop Hieronymos of Athens and all Greece and Metropolitan Sava of Poland; however, they are represented through their high representatives.

At the Synaxis all Local Orthodox Churches are represented:

The Synaxis, which began under the chairmanship of His All-Holiness Ecumenical Patriarch Bartholomew on 22 January 2016, are attended by these Local Churches:

- Patriarchate of Contantinople: associates of the President: Metropolitan Emanuel of France and archimandrite Bartholomew (Samarasa); Archbishop Demetrios of America, Archbishop Yoav of Thelma;

- Patriarchate of Alexandria: His Beatitude Patriarch Theodor II of Alexandria, Metropolitan Gabriel of Leontopolis, Metropolitan George of Guinea;

- Patriarchate of Antioch: Metropolitan Silouan of British Isles and Ireland, Metropolitan Isaac of Germany and Middle Europe, presbyter Porfirius Georgi;

- Patriarchate of Jerusalem: His Grace Patriarch Theophilos III of Jerusalem, Archbishop Aristarchos of Constantina, Archbishop Nektarios of Anthidon, archdeacon Eulogios, T. Yangu.

- Patriarchate of Moscow: His Holiness Patriarch Kirill of Moscow and All Russia, His Beatitude Metropolitan Onufry of Kiev and All Ukraine, Metropolitan Hilarion of Volokolamsk, protopresbyter Nikolai Balashov;

- Serbian Patriarchate: His Holiness Serbian Patriarch Irinej, Metropolitan Amfilohije of Montenegro and the Littoral, Bishop Irinej of Backa, presbyter Vladimir Vranic;

- Patriarchate of Georgia: His Holiness Catholicos-Patriarch of All Georgia Ilia II, Metropolitan Gerasim of Zugdidi and Tsaishi, Metropolitan of Gori and Athena Andria, protopresbyter Giorgi Zviadadze.

- Romanian Patriarchate: His Beatitude Patriarch Daniel of Romania, Metropolitan Joseph of Western and South Europe, Metropolitan Niphon of Targovishte, protopresbyter Michael Tica, protopresbyter Stephan Ababei.

- Bulgarian Patriarchate: His Holiness Patriarch Neophit of Bulgaria, Metropolitan Joan of Varna and Veliki Preslav, Metropolitan Seraphim of Nevrokop, archimandrite Gerasim, Ivan Dimitrov, T. Atanasov, D. Arnaudov.

- Archbishopric of Cyprus: His Beatitude  Archbishop Chrysostomos of Cyprus, Bishop Christophoros of Karpasia, deacon Cyprian Kunduris.

- Church of Greece: Metropolitan Germanos of Ilios, Metropolitan Chrysostomos of Peristeria, Metropolitan Chrysostomos of Messinia;

- Church of Albania: His Beatitude Archbishop Anastasios of Tirana and all Albania, Metropolitan Demetrious of  Girokastra, Metropolitan John of Corcha, deacon Spiridonos Topadza;

- Church of Poland: Bishop George of Semiatik;

- Orthodox Church of Czech Lands and Slovakia: His Beatitude Metropolitan Rastislav of Czech Lands and Slovakia, Archbishop George of Mihalov-Kosice, Archbishop Mihailo of Prague, Archimandrite Serafim (Semjatovski).

The secretariat consists of: Metropolitan Jeremy of Switzerland, archdeacon John Chrisavgis, Vlasios Fidas and K. Delikonstandis (Ecumenical Patriarchate).

Information Service of the Serbian Orthodox Church